Random image from our India photo collection

Uttar Pradesh

Physical Features

The state can be categorized into four physical regions: In the north of Uttar Pradesh, the Himalayas, including Nandadevi, and other parts such as Badrinath and Shivling, with the holy Ganges (Ganga) rise in their midst.

In the south, the Shivalik hills run parallel with the Himalayas, succeeded by the Babar and the Tarai.

The Gangetic Plain occupies three quarters of the state, gently dropping from 365 m in the northwest to 80 m in the east at Varanasi (Benaras).

The fourth region comprises the northern margins of the peninsula, including the outer slopes of the Vindhya Mountains in the southeast, which rises more than 600 m in certain points.

Go back

Please enable Javascript to view this site properly.