Random image from our India photo collection

Tamil Nadu

Physical Features

The land can be divided into five major physical divisions - the Kurinji or mountainous region, the Mullai or forest region, the Palai or arid region, the Marudham or the fertile plains and the Neidhal or coastal region. The Eastern and Western Ghats meet in Tamil Nadu and run along its eastern and western boundaries. The Cauvery River, originating in the Coorg district of the neighboring state of Karnataka, is the lifeline of the state. The lush Coromandal plains are irrigated by the Cauvery and its Thanjavur-Nagapattinam delta is called the granary of Tamil Nadu.

Palar, Pennar, Vaigai, and Tamiraparani are the other rivers of the state.

Go back

Please enable Javascript to view this site properly.